Skip to main content

2017-2018 News


Departmental Awards

June 8, 2018

This year, we have again a large group of undergraduate students who have won awards for their work and prestigious scholarships to study abroad in Berlin during the summer of 2018.

  • Jordan Todes received the Géza von Mólnar Essay Award (in English)
  • Megan Lanelle Anderson received the Géza von Mólnar  Achievement Award (in German)
  • Nina Holl received the Géza von Mólnar  Achievement Award (in German)
  • Kristina Karisch received the Géza von Mólnar  Achievement Award (in German)
  • Maya Daiter received the Géza von Mólnar Multimedia Award (in German or English)
  • Angelica Paola Cruz was selected for Outstanding Achievement in First-Year German
  • Yehya Elmasry was selected for Outstanding Achievement in Second-Year German

Max Kade Foundation Summer Study in Berlin program Awardees

  • Miles Cameron
  • Edward Fennell
  • Anya Kothari
  • Molly Liu
  • Alisa Nazaire
  • Shaam Nobel
  • Mary Pedraza
  • Marco Radaelli
  • Edwin Rebollar
  • Kathryn Riopel
  • Lacey Schroeder
  • Ravi Tandon
  • Ethan Tang
  • Eva Warrender
  • Amy Yang

Anna Parkinson receives Distinguished Teaching Award for 2017-2018

June 7, 2018
The department is pleased to announce that Professor Anna Parkinson was recognized by Weinberg College with the Distinguished Teaching Award for 2017-2018.  This is a wonderful acknowledgement of her excellence in the classroom, and shows how much the students appreciate her dedication to their learning.

Denise Meuser Promoted to Full Professor of Instruction

June 7, 2018

Denise Meuser has been promoted to the position of Full Professor of Instruction, beginning late spring of 2018.

The department would like to congratulate Professor Meuser.


Sarah Dinegar Receives Undergraduate Research Grant

April 20, 2018
Congratulations to German Major Sarah Dinegar (graduating in 2019) who received an Undergraduate Research Grant (URG). Sarah is planning to spend part of her summer 2018 in Germany and the US,  interviewing physicians about the different treatment approaches used in Type 2 Diabetes Disease Management (Germany uses a "carve in" approach and the US a "carve-out" approach).  Sarah’s research is supervised by Professor Unger (Molecular Biosciences) and Professor Lys (German).

Nina Holl Wins Fulbright Grant

April 20, 2018

Congratulations to German Major Nina Holl (graduating in 2018) who received a Fulbright grant to conduct research in Germany in 2018. Her proposal called "Factors contributing to Diaspora Entrepreneurship in Berlin" is an extension of her research conducted during Spring 2017 under the guidance of Professor Lys (German) and of her  interdisciplinary senior thesis written under the guidance of  Professor Stokes  (History ) and Professor Behrs (German).


Study Abroad Opportunities or Interships Abroad During the Summer

March 13, 2018
The summer is a good time to accelerate your language studies or to immerse yourself in the culture through an internship abroad. If you don't know where to start, consult our Study Abroad Adviser for suggestions and support. The department encourages every student to go abroad in the summer to experience the German culture and improve the German language.

Register for Spring Quarter Courses

March 13, 2018
The Spring quarter is around the corner and the department is looking forward to welcome our students - majors, minors, and those wo simply want to take a course here and there - to our courses. Please consult our Spring Schedule and contact our Director of Undergraduate Studies with any questions you might have.

Friedrich-Kline Foundation Fellowship Now Available

March 13, 2018
Supported by a generous gift from the Friedman-Kline Foundation, the German Department is delighted to announce yearly  fellowships to support Northwestern students enrolled in study-abroad activities or summer-internships in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland.


Frederika Teverbing wins France Yates Postdoctoral Fellowship

February 6, 2018
Former Graduate Student and current visiting assistant Professor of the Practice, Frederika Tevebring, has been awarded the France Yates Postdoctoral Fellowship at the Warburg Institute in London. Congratulations to Frederika!