Skip to main content

2018-2019 News


Ten German Majors and Minors are graduating

June 20, 2019
During our Graduation Reception on Thursday afternoon, we celebrated our German majors and minors together with their parents, siblings, and grandparents. You can meet our graduating seniors here and learn, why they chose to study German.

Jörg Kreienbrock was promoted

June 5, 2019
Jörg Kreienbrock, Associate Professor of German, was promoted to Full Professor of German. Congratulations.

Anna Parkinson wins Mellon Fellowship

June 1, 2019
Congratulations to Anna Parkinson, Associate Professor in German, a core faculty member of the Critical Theory Cluster, an affiliate of the Gender and Sexuality Studies Program and the Jewish Studies Program, who received an Andrew W. Mellon New Directions Fellowship for 2019. The Mellon New Directions Fellowship enables her to pursue formal studies in forensic anthropology and forensic science at Columbia University and New York University during 2019-2020. 

Ted Frank Laport wins DAAD and Fulbright Awards

June 1, 2019
Ted Frank Laport's  successful proposal Forms of Life in the Jugendbewegung around 1900” wins a DAAD Award and a Fulbright Award. Ted is a graduate student in the German department. Congratulations. 


Departmental Achievement Awards

May 31, 2019

Several undergraduate students won awards for their achievements in learning German.

  • Northwestern University Award for Outstanding Achievement in First-Year German
    Bianca Emanuelle Crockett
  • Northwestern University Award for Outstanding Achievement in Second-Year German
    Alexander Hamilton and Drake Amy
  • Geza von Molnar Essay Award in English
    Kendyl Counts and Olivia Pura
  • Geza von Molnar German Achievement Award
    Eric Hammarlund and Erica Henschen
  • Award for Outstanding Work in German Language and Culture
    Sarah Dinegar

Friedman-Kline-Family-Foundation Fellowships

May 28, 2019

The department awarded nine undergraduate students with a Friedman-Kline-Family Foundation Fellowship in the amount of $ 1300 each to study abroad in Germany during the summer 2019. The lucky students are:

  • Lia Davis
  • Brianna Heath 
  • George Papajohn
  • Stella Cole
  • James Drake
  • Mackenzie Gentz                                                                                             
  • Weihui (Wendy) Li                                                                                          
  • Aaron Pulvermacher
  • Daniel Vesurai   

Max Kade Travel Scholarships to Germany

May 28, 2019

Ten undergraduate students were awarded Max Kade Travel Scholarships in the amount of $ 1000 each to defray travel costs to Germany for studying abroad during the summer 2019. The lucky winners are:   

  • Audrey Abbott
  • Kenya Alexander
  • Brianna Heath
  • George Papajohn
  • Benjamin Povman
  • Julia Tesmond
  • Ngo Tamunodiyeprive
  • Nicholas Chen
  • Binayak Pande
  • Erica Henschen

Jonas Rosenbrück wins Teaching Award

May 20, 2019
Jonas Rosenbrück was awarded the Weinberg College Outstanding Graduate Student Teacher Award.  Jonas  is  a graduate student in Comparative Literary Studies (CLS) and German. Congratulations.

German departmental honors for 2018-2019

May 17, 2019

The Weinberg College Committee on Undergraduate Academic Excellence has awarded German  departmental honors for 2018-2019 to Courtney Chatterton and Sarah Dinegar. We are especially grateful to Courtney and Sarah for undertaking such interesting and ambitious projects and for carrying them to fruition, and to their thesis supervisors and thesis readers, Lauren Stokes, Sarah Cushman, Vinzenz Unger, Jan Behrs and Franziska Lys for their guidance and invaluable help in getting both students to graduate with honors. Congratulations!

Sarah Dinegar tthesis deals with the most effective diabetes 2 management methods in Germany and the US. Sarah received a URG to interview physicians in the US and in Germany. Thesis supervisors: Franziska Lys, Jan Behrs, Vinzenz Unger, Department of Molecular Biosciences.   

Courtney Chatterton, Using the theoretical framework of critical Jewish memory and Jewish visibility, explores Jewish identity and life in Germany during the immediate post-war period, examining primary and secondary sources in both German and English. Thesis supervisors: Lauren Stokes, History, Jan Behrs, and Sarah Cushman, History/Holocaust Education Foundation.

John Paluch was promoted

May 1, 2019
John Paluch, Associate Professor of Instruction, was promoted to Full Professor of Instruction. Congratulations.


Back to top